Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


A-League Roundup: Melbourne Victory Falter As Melbourne City Prevail

Besart Berisha of the Victory walks out for the A-League Elimination Final match between the Brisbane Roar and Melbourne Victory at Suncorp Stadium on April 15, 2016 in Brisbane, Australia. April 15, 2016| Credit: Chris Hyde

In today’s A-League Roundup, a couple of matches took place that determined the semifinal matchups. In the first elimination final, John Aloisi’s Brisbane Roar defeated Kevin Muscat’s Melbourne Victory 2-1 at Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia. Matt McKay (88′) and Thomas Broich (93′) scored for Brisbane, while Besart Berisha scored the last goal of the season for Melbourne Victory. Jason Geria was sent off in the 83rd minute for the visitors.

“We should have come in with an advantage in the first half. We had numerous opportunities that we didn’t convert,” Muscat said. “We were the better team tonight, regardless of whatever stats there are out there. I’m just gutted for the group. For the season to finish like it has tonight, gutted.”

“We created a lot of chances and it was just disappointing that we had a sending off,” said Victory’s Oliver Bozanic. “I thought we played well in a lot of the game, and it was just very disappointing to lose in the end like that. That’s the way it fell in the dying minutes and it’s very hard for us to take.”We just wanted to play our way, try to do that for 90 minutes and score as many goals as we can.”

“We all know what the Victory can do, they are still a great team, but I reckon the spirit of our team was awesome,” said Broich. “The reaction from the kick-off, again we scored and went on to win it. We didn’t wait for extra-time or anything, we wanted it so badly so that’s great.”

A brace from the Golden Boot winner, Bruno Fornaroli, in the 40th and 76th minute gave John van’t Schip’s Melbourne City a 2-0 win over Kenny Lowe’s Perth Glory at AAMI Park in Melbourne, Victoria.

“I worked hard for this but when you score 23 goals and don’t win the league, it’s different,” Fornaroli said. “You don’t enjoy it if you don’t win the league. That’s why we need to play 100% in this final to win the league.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Embed from Getty Images


“When I came I said I wanted to win the league and I have the opportunity to go for this dream, win the first league for this Club and work hard. I didn’t promise goals, I worked hard for this team and I tried to fight every game. When you do those things and work hard, these things come.”

“I just thought [Fornaroli’s bicycle kick] was a high foot, you know,” said Lowe. “I think it’s there for him [Fornaroli] to go for but if you kick somebody in the head, maybe you’ve got to blow the whistle. “We’ve had two now this year. We had one at Western Sydney and we had one here but I don’t want to harp on about that. They were the better team and they deserved it. So irrespective of whether he’s kicked someone in the head and he’s scored – I’d be disappointed if my centre-forward hadn’t done that – so there’s no qualms on that front.”

Here are your 20 Bold Predictions (10 Bold Predictions times two) for your A-League semifinal matchups.

Adelaide United vs. Melbourne City

  • At least 40 fouls will be whistled.
  • Under six cards will be issued.
  • Eugene Galekovic will make at least four saves.
  • Thomas Sorensen will make under five saves.
  • Bruno Fornaroli will score for Melbourne City.
  • Bruce Djite will score for Adelaide United.
  • Isaias will score for Adelaide United.
  • Pablo Sanchez will score for Adelaide United.
  • Marcelo Carrusca will score for Adelaide United.
  • Aaron Mooy will score for Melbourne City.

Adelaide United 4, Melbourne City 2

Western Sydney Wanderers vs. Brisbane Roar

  • Jamie Maclaren will score for Brisbane Roar.
  • Jamie Young will make at least four saves.
  • Mitch Nichols will score for Western Sydney Wanderers.
  • Thomas Broich will score for Brisbane Roar.
  • Matt McKay will score for Brisbane Roar.
  • Liam Reddy will make at least four saves.
  • Brendon Santalab will score for Western Sydney Wanderers.
  • Mark Bridge will score for Western Sydney Wanderers.
  • Romeo Castelen will score for Western Sydney Wanderers.
  • At least five cards will be issued.

Western Sydney Wanderers 4, Brisbane Roar 3

Keep it right here on The Stoppage Time, powered by Azteca Soccer, for more world football news. Stay connected on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

More Footy You May Also Like


One of Japan’s longtime servants to the game of football is now in Melbourne Victory colors. Meet Keisuke Honda, a former Nagoya Grampus, CSKA...


The legacy of Graham Arnold’s contributions to Australian soccer keep getting bigger and bigger and bigger. With two rounds to spare, the Sydney Football...


A significant breakthrough took place in Round 20 of the 2016-17 Hyundai A-League when a 3-0 victory for Kevin Muscat’s Melbourne Victory over Paul...

World leagues

  The 2016-17 season for Melbourne City’s W-League team was a challenging one. Joe Montemurro had been promoted from manager of the women’s team...


The Stoppage Time continues its coverage of the 2017 AFC Champions League with a look back at the playoff round. We start in West...


The only team that can catch Graham Arnold’s Sydney FC in the A-League is Sydney FC themselves. Their 2-1 Australia Day win over Kevin...


The 2016-17 A-League Premiership Plate is officially Sydney FC‘s to lose after Des Buckingham’s Wellington Phoenix delivered one of the upsets of the season,...