Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Brisbane Roar vs. Perth Glory: Coast To Coast Clash At Suncorp

Joshua Risdon of the Glory and Henrique De SIlva of the Roar challenge for the ball during the round 19 A-League match between Perth Glory and Brisbane Roar at nib Stadium on February 28, 2015 in Perth, Australia. February 28, 2015| Credit: Will Russell

Chasing Tony Popovic‘s Western Sydney Wanderers is John Aloisi‘s Brisbane Roar, who, with a record of 7-3-2 (24 points), sit firmly in second on the ladder. Rearmed, renewed, and revitalized, the Roar are ready to continue to go out on the prowl this season after whipping Melbourne City 3-1.

At Suncorp Stadium on Saturday, January 2 in Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, they host Kenny Lowe‘s Perth Glory, who were fortunate enough to draw with a wasteful Melbourne Victory side 1-1 on the road. But the Glory are currently 3-3-6 (12 points) and are falling off the torrid pace set by Brisbane, City and the two Sydney sides. A man to watch out for is Brandon Borrello, who broke through yet again for the Roar in their win over City.

Embed from Getty Images

“It’s been great. I’ve had a couple weeks to reflect on they way the Boss wants us to play and he’s given me a chance and I thought I’ve made the most of it, it was a great team performance,” Borrello said.

“I was really happy for him because he got his just rewards, he kept working. It was great he got on the scoresheet,” Aloisi added. “It was an entertaining match where both teams wanted to win and we were happy to come away with the three points.”

Kickoff is scheduled for 10:15 p.m. PT (Friday)/1:15 a.m. ET/4:15 p.m. AEST. Here’s what we think will happen between Brisbane Roar and Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium.

  • At least 35 fouls will be whistled.
  • At least three cards will be issued.
  • Ante Covic will have under five saves.
  • Jamie Young will have under four saves.
  • No goals will be scored in the first 20 minutes.
  • No goals will be scored in the first 10 minutes of the second half.
  • Henrique will score for Brisbane Roar.
  • Brandon Borello will score for Brisbane Roar.
  • Thomas Broich will score for Brisbane Roar.
  • Diego Castro will score for Perth Glory.

All signs point to a two-team race for the Premiership Plate, and by the looks of it, Brisbane will continue to match pace with Western Sydney with yet another authoritative win over Perth Glory at Suncorp Stadium.

Brisbane Roar 3, Perth Glory 1

Keep it right here on The Stoppage Time for more A-League news. Follow us on Twitter and Like Us on Facebook.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

More Footy You May Also Like


One of Japan’s longtime servants to the game of football is now in Melbourne Victory colors. Meet Keisuke Honda, a former Nagoya Grampus, CSKA...

World Cup

Peru got their first win at a World Cup finals since 1978 as they beat Australia in the last match of the tournament for...

World Cup

Australia stay alive for another day and saved their hopes of reaching the World Cup knockout stage after Mile Jedinak’s penalty secured a first Group...

World Cup

VAR was the ultimate talking point as all three goals in France’s 2-1 win over Australia went to the decision of the technology team....

World Cup Qualifiers

Another regular to the FIFA World Cup is Uli Stielike’s Taeguk Warriors of Korea Republic. They only drew scoreless with Uzbekistan at the Bunyodkor...

World Cup Qualifiers

Vahid Halilhodzic’s Samurai Blue of Japan are back in the big time for another rodeo. With the Saitama Stadium 2002, the de facto national...


The legacy of Graham Arnold’s contributions to Australian soccer keep getting bigger and bigger and bigger. With two rounds to spare, the Sydney Football...