Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


A-League & W-League Round-Up: As City Girls Rise, Melbourne Boys Are Now Number Two

Melbourne City celebrate winning the 2016 W-League Grand Final match between Melbourne Victory and Sydney FC at AAMI Park on January 31, 2016 in Melbourne, Australia. January 31, 2016| Credit: Darrian Traynor

In today’s A-League and W-League Round-Up, the Melbourne men’s sides are consigned to second best as the women from Melbourne City carry the weight to a perfect season. Meanwhile, the Western Sydney Wanderers are in impeccable form and have separation in the A-League ladder. The Wanderers are where we begin our round-up of the weekend’s action in Australia on The Stoppage Time.

A brace from Mark Bridge in the 60th and 66th minutes paced Tony Popovic‘s Western Sydney Wanderers to a 4-3 victory over John van’t Schip‘s Melbourne City at Parramatta Stadium in Parramatta, Western Sydney. Also scoring for the Wanderers were Mitch Nichols (32′) and Brendon Santalab (89′), the latter’s strike providing to be the difference. Harry Novillo (76′), Bruno Fornaroli (78′) and Erik Paartalu (93′) scored for a Melbourne City outfit that played down to 10 men with Adrian Caceres sent off in the 85th minute of play.

The arrival of Luis “Lucho” Garcia was confirmed as Tony Walmsley‘s Central Coast Mariners smoked Ernie Merrick‘s Wellington Phoenix 3-1 at AMI Stadium in Christchurch, New Zealand. Garcia scored in the 50th minute for the Mariners. Other goalscorers included Storm Roux (53′) and Mitch Austin (85′). Blake Powell scored in the 92nd minute for the Nix.

A Jamie Maclaren brace in the eighth and 76th minutes was more than enough for John Aloisi‘s Brisbane Roar to power past Graham Arnold‘s Sydney FC 3-1 at Allianz Stadium in Sydney under torrential conditions. Matt McKay scored in the 67th minute for the Roar and Corona scored an own goal to put the hosts on the scoresheet.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Diego Castro is a player that Kevin Muscat‘s Melbourne Victory may want to consider making a move for in the July transfer window. The reason: he knows how to score clutch goals against them. Castro’s goals in the 29th and 82nd minute gave Kenny Lowe‘s Perth Glory a 3-2 victory over the Victory at nib Stadium in Perth. Andy Keogh also got on the scoresheet in the 27th minute for the Glory. Besart Berisha scored a brace in the 44th and 69th minutes for Melbourne, who will deal next round without the services of Fahid Ben Khalfallah, who was sent off in the 58th minute of play.

In the final match of Round 17 in the A-League, Guillermo Amor‘s Adelaide United shut out Scott Miller‘s Newcastle Jets 1-0 at Coopers Stadium in Adelaide. Marcelo Carrusca was the lone goalscorer for the Reds, scoring in the 43rd minute of play, leaving Newcastle as the only team to go goalless this round.

In fact, the Jets were the only team to go scoreless in the entire match day weekend because in the W-League Grand Final at AAMI Park in Melbourne, both teams scored. Joe Montemurro‘s Melbourne City crushed Daniel Barrett‘s Sydney FC 4-1. Jennifer Beattie (32′), Kim Little (54′), Beatrice Goad (79′) and Lisa de Vanna (95′) scored for City, while Kyah Simon scored the long goal for Sydney in (curiously) the 69th minute of play.

Keep it right here on The Stoppage Time, powered by Azteca Soccer, for more A-League news. Like Us on Facebook and Follow Us on Twitter.


More Footy You May Also Like


One of Japan’s longtime servants to the game of football is now in Melbourne Victory colors. Meet Keisuke Honda, a former Nagoya Grampus, CSKA...

World Cup

Peru got their first win at a World Cup finals since 1978 as they beat Australia in the last match of the tournament for...

World Cup

Australia stay alive for another day and saved their hopes of reaching the World Cup knockout stage after Mile Jedinak’s penalty secured a first Group...

World Cup

VAR was the ultimate talking point as all three goals in France’s 2-1 win over Australia went to the decision of the technology team....

World Cup Qualifiers

Another regular to the FIFA World Cup is Uli Stielike’s Taeguk Warriors of Korea Republic. They only drew scoreless with Uzbekistan at the Bunyodkor...

World Cup Qualifiers

Vahid Halilhodzic’s Samurai Blue of Japan are back in the big time for another rodeo. With the Saitama Stadium 2002, the de facto national...


The legacy of Graham Arnold’s contributions to Australian soccer keep getting bigger and bigger and bigger. With two rounds to spare, the Sydney Football...