Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


O Brother, Where Art Thou: MLS Soshies Brouhaha Starts Dec 14

USA forward Sydney Leroux gets a kiss from husband Dom Dwyer after winning the final football match between USA and Japan during their 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup at the BC Place Stadium in Vancouver on July 5, 2015. AFP PHOTO / FRANCK FIFE July 05, 2015| Credit: FRANCK FIFE

Major League Soccer has an initiative to have its players get out on social media and interact with the fans through Facebook, Twitter, and all the other major social media platforms out there. To this end, the #MLSSoshies were created to celebrate the best social media-active player in the competition.

Two players on the Los Angeles Galaxy, A.J. DeLaGarza and Sebastian Lletget, are competing. Here are the details from the league.

We’ve organized the top 16 players into a bracket of four groups. Next Monday, Dec. 14, we’ll open up voting, and they’ll advance through rounds for the overall “Most Social Player” bragging rights. At the same time, we’ll also ask for your votes in our four specialized categories: “Let Me Take a #Selfie,” “the Bigger Picture,” “Family Matters,” and “#BFFs.”

Next Monday through Thursday, you’ll be able to vote for both the overall Most Social Player and one of these categories. On Friday, Dec. 18 we’ll announce the Final Four, and then the following Mon., Dec. 21, the overall winner. So, here are the brackets for Most Social Player! Get to campaigning now on your favorites’ behalf using the hashtag #MLSSoshies; otherwise, look out for voting next week.


Kei Kamara (Columbus Crew SC)
Brek Shea (Orlando City SC)
Kaká (Orlando City SC)
Joao Plata (Real Salt Lake)


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Dax McCarty (New York Red Bulls)
Quincy Amarikwa (San Jose Earthquakes)
Mike Magee (Chicago Fire/free agent)
Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union)


Dom Dwyer (Sporting Kansas City)
Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders)
Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)
Andrew Farrell (New England Revolution)


Sebastian Lletget (LA Galaxy)
Clint Irwin (Colorado Rapids)
Didier Drogba (Montreal Impact)
A.J. DeLaGarza (LA Galaxy)

We want you to spread the message as well. Who do you want us to support? Give us your take by going to @thestoppagetime on Twitter or on our Facebook page and tell us who you think deserves to win the 2015 #MLSSoshies. Spread the word! The brouhaha starts next week.

And as always, keep it right here on your friends from The Stoppage Time for more MLS news.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

More Footy You May Also Like


The Los Angeles Football Club (LAFC) had an uncharacteristically rough night on defense against the Philadelphia Union as a wild game at Banc of...


On Sunday night, many of the Philadelphia Union supporters who had stayed up to catch their team’s match would not have expected much from...


The Portland Timbers kicked off their 2020 MLS season, and their 10th in the league, with a home opener against the Minnesota United FC...


The Seattle Sounders bowed out of the Concacaf Champions League in dramatic fashion on Thursday night in Seattle as CD Olimpia scored an equalizer...


The Los Angeles Football Club (LAFC) kicked off its 2020 MLS season against the expansion Inter Miami CF with a 1-0 home win, thanks...


After a few months away, the MLS returned this weekend for the first games of 2020 and what a treat it was. A combination...


Miguel ‘Piojo’ Herrera has seen a lot of success with Club América in his time as manager. However, there is one Achilles heel for...