Ligue 1

Paris Saint-Germain: Now More Than Ever, Uniting A City

A journalist holds an example of Paris Saint-Germain`s jersey with the text 'Je Suis Paris', that the players will wear for the next two matches in tribute for the victims of Paris's attacks ahead of a training session on November 24, 2015 in Malmo, on the eve of the UEFA Champions League Group A football match between Malmo FF and Paris Saint-Germain ( PSG ). AFP PHOTO / JONATHAN NACKSTRAND / AFP / JONATHAN NACKSTRAND
Paris Saint-Germain: Now More Than Ever, Uniting A City

For the next two games, the leaders of France’s Ligue 1, Laurent Blanc’s Paris Saint-Germain, will be wearing “Je Suis Paris” on their shirts in memory of the November 13 Paris Attacks initiated by the Islamic State. Nearly 130 lives have been lost in the attacks, an event that has shaken the city, France, and the world…but has not broken its spirit and resolve for peace.

In Ligue 1 play, PSG currently lead the table with 12 wins, two draws and zero defeats through 14 games of action. They are also 2-1-1 in UEFA Champions League play, second only to Real Madrid in Group A.

From PSG’s web site…

“In tribute to the victims of November 13 attacks, the Paris Saint-Germain players will wear a special jersey which only bears the message “JE SUIS PARIS” and nothing else for their next two matches: against Malmö in the Champions League on Wednesday night and again, on Saturday in their Ligue 1 home match against Troyes.

This message of unity will appear on the shirt in the space usually occupied by our main partner Emirates.

The President of Paris Saint-Germain Nasser Al-Khelaifi would like to “especially thank the Club’s partners Emirates, as well as Ooredoo and QNB, who have released their space on the players’ jerseys.”

Next Saturday, for the first home match at Parc des Princes since the dramatic events, Paris Saint-Germain will honour the victims with a message in unison with the vibrant solidarity expressed by the French and International football community during the past days.”

Paris Saint-Germain face Malmö Fotbollförening of the Swedish Allsvenskan on Nov. 25 at Swedbank Stadion in Malmo, Sweden in the UEFA Champions League action. Kickoff is scheduled for 11:45 p.m. PT/2:45 p.m. ET/8:45 p.m. CET. PSG return to Ligue 1 action on Nov. 28 against Troyes at the Parc des Princes in Paris. Kickoff is scheduled for 8 a.m. PT/11 a.m. ET/5 p.m. CET.

Ligue 1
@joryansalazar

Jo-Ryan Salazar is a writer for The Stoppage Time, a soccer blog powered by Azteca Soccer. A supporter of the Los Angeles Galaxy since 1996 and a committed supporter since 2002, Jo-Ryan also follows Chelsea FC, Melbourne Victory, FC Tokyo and Paris Saint-Germain. Apart from soccer, Jo-Ryan is an administrative assistant for a local nonprofit in Long Beach, California and also does photography, photo-editing and fictional writing.

More in Ligue 1