Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Liga MX

SCCL: Club América Bicampeón!

Michael Arroyo (R) of Club America celebrates after scoring a goal against Tigres during the second leg of the final match of the CONCACAF Champions League at the Aztec Stadium in Mexico City, Mexico on April 27, 2016.

Club América entered Wednesday’s final leg of the Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions with a comfortable 2-0 lead over Tigres. A simple 0-0 draw would have even sufficed, but Tigres came in with intentions of taking América to the edge.

Here’s how the game unfolded…

Embed from Getty Images


Tigres did not hold back their desire to score in the Azteca. They dictated the control of the match with their possession and had several major chances to score. Club América may of been too cautious in the first half, because Tigres looked comfortable, and in the 39th minute, André-Pierre Gignac slotted the first goal of the match in for Tigres.

Tigres went into halftime up 1-0, and down 1-2 in the aggregate. They only needed one more goal to take the game into extra time, as long as they didn’t let Club América score.

Embed from Getty Images


Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

The second half, however, did not flow the same for Tigres, and Club América started to pick up the pace on their own end. Subbed into the game in the second half, Michael Arroyo stuck a dagger in the hearts of Tigres by scoring a knuckle ball from distance in the 65th minute.

Tigres would need to score three goals now to advance, but it was just too much for the reigning Liga MX champions. To cap it off, Club América won a clear penalty in the 86th minute. Osvaldo Martínez took the penalty and sent a missile to the his left, putting América up 2-1, 4-1 on aggregate.

Embed from Getty Images


The victory for Club América is their second CONCACAF title in a row. They will be heading to Japan in December to represent the region in the Club World Cup. The victory from América also marks the 11th title (8th in current format) for Liga MX in CONCACAF in a row. The last non-Mexican team to win was Saprissa in 2005.


  • Golden ball: Rubens Sambueza (América)
  • Golden boot: Emanuel Villa (Querétaro)
  • Golden glove: Hugo González (América)
  • Best young player: Alberth Elis (Olimpia)
  • Fair play award: Querétaro

Keep it right here on The Stoppage Time, powered by Azteca Soccer, for more football and Scotiabank CONCACAF Champions league news. Stay connected on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

More Footy You May Also Like


The Los Angeles Football Club (LAFC) returned home to Banc of California Stadium still looking for their first win since the MLS regular season...

Liga MX

The Guardianes 2020 tournament is underway, and we have seen a lot of young Mexicans take advantage of their playing time. Players like Sebastián...


The Los Angeles Football Club (LAFC) returned home to resume the Major League Soccer (MLS) regular season to face their rivals the LA Galaxy....

Mexicans Abroad

After the 2010 World Cup, we saw a trend with Mexicans going across the pond to Europe. From Efraín Juárez, Pablo Barrera, to Chicharito,...


It looks like the Portland Timbers will stick around Mickey Mouse’s kingdom just a little longer as they outlasted a late Philadelphia Union comeback...


MLS fans familiar with New York struggles last season knew that this Red Bulls roster, as currently constructed, had some glaring holes in it....


The seventh edition of El Clasico between the Los Angeles Football Club (LAFC) and the LA Galaxy went for a tense affair into a...