Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

A-League

Western Sydney Wanderers vs. Melbourne Victory: Prowling The Streets Of Western Sydney

Connor Pain of Melbourne Victory controls the ball during the round 21 A-League match between the Western Sydney Wanderers and Melbourne Victory at Pirtek Stadium on March 13, 2015 in Sydney, Australia. March 13, 2015| Credit: Matt King

Tony Popovic‘s Western Sydney Wanderers are back to playing like the type of team that won the AFC Champions League last year, a no-nonsense outfit fueled by a blue-collar supporter group in the Red and Black Bloc, their unyielding spirit dominant in every performance they put in. This Saturday at Parramatta Stadium in Parramatta, New South Wales, Australia, they will be hoping to turn the tide against a side that had their number last year, Kevin Muscat‘s Melbourne Victory.

After an appalling 2-0 shutout loss to Wellington Phoenix on the road, the time has come for the Victory to execute better in their passing and clearances or risk sinking further down the Hyundai A-League ladder. Western Sydney are coming off a strong 2-1 victory over Brisbane Roar at home and have Melbourne right where they want them.

The Wanderers are led by Mark Bridge and Mitch Nichols, one of the most potent tag teams in the competition. As for the Victory, the combination of Besart Berisha and Kosta Barbarouses is off the pace and will need to ramp up efforts this weekend against the red-hot Wanderers.

Kickoff is scheduled for 12:30 a.m. PT/3:30 a.m. ET/7:30 p.m. AEDT. The Live Blog for this match will start at 10 p.m. PT/1 a.m. ET/5 p.m. AEDT. Here’s what we think will happen in this Round 10 A-League encounter between the Western Sydney Wanderers and Melbourne Victory.

  • At least four goals will be scored.
  • At least 45 fouls will be whistled and five cards will be issued.
  • Mark Bridge will score a brace for Western Sydney.
  • Mitch Nichols will also score a brace for Western Sydney.
  • Someone other than Besart Berisha will score for Melbourne Victory.
  • Danny Vukovic will make under five saves for Melbourne.
  • Andrew Redmayne will make at least four saves for Western Sydney.
  • Andreu will record an assist for the Wanderers.
  • Dimas will record an assist for the Wanderers as well.
  • Gui Finkler will record an assist for the Victory.

All in all, all signs point to a comprehensive victory for the Western Sydney Wanderers against the Melbourne Victory, as their form seems to be peaking at the right time. Midseason form matters at this point, and at this point, Western Sydney have it to a T.

Western Sydney Wanderers 3, Melbourne Victory 1

Keep it right here on The Stoppage Time for continuing coverage of the 2015-16 Hyundai A-League.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Comments

More Footy You May Also Like

A-League

One of Japan’s longtime servants to the game of football is now in Melbourne Victory colors. Meet Keisuke Honda, a former Nagoya Grampus, CSKA...

World Cup

Peru got their first win at a World Cup finals since 1978 as they beat Australia in the last match of the tournament for...

World Cup

Australia stay alive for another day and saved their hopes of reaching the World Cup knockout stage after Mile Jedinak’s penalty secured a first Group...

World Cup

VAR was the ultimate talking point as all three goals in France’s 2-1 win over Australia went to the decision of the technology team....

World Cup Qualifiers

Another regular to the FIFA World Cup is Uli Stielike’s Taeguk Warriors of Korea Republic. They only drew scoreless with Uzbekistan at the Bunyodkor...

World Cup Qualifiers

Vahid Halilhodzic’s Samurai Blue of Japan are back in the big time for another rodeo. With the Saitama Stadium 2002, the de facto national...

A-League

The legacy of Graham Arnold’s contributions to Australian soccer keep getting bigger and bigger and bigger. With two rounds to spare, the Sydney Football...

Advertisement